The Last of Us Wiki
Advertisement
The Last of Us Wiki
This page documents an official wiki guideline
This page documents the accepted standard that all editors should follow, although it should be treated with common sense, as occasional exceptions will apply. Be sure to thoroughly read this page—along with all other policies and guidelines—before contributing to the wiki. When editing this page, please ensure that your revision reflects consensus.

This is the official page for the deletion policy of The Last of Us Wiki. This policy defines the general conditions under which administrators may delete articles, and how to properly utilize the {{Delete}} and {{Speedydelete}} templates.

All policies are expected to be understood and adhered by all users on the wiki, regardless of status or position, generally before contributing to the wiki. Failure to comply with these policies may result in a warning, and if continued, a block from the wiki.

Certain policies are able to be changed or modified based on a general community consensus. Anyone who disagrees with a policy is welcome to suggest changes, which can be organized on Discussions or contacting an active administrator.

Conditions for speedy deletion

Listed here are some of the most common general conditions under which an administrator may speedily delete an article, file, or category. This list is by no means comprehensive.

  • Notability – The Last of Us Wiki defines certain notability rules for mainspace articles. The articles include in-universe and out-of-universe subjects that are deemed unnecessary. Articles that are determined to be in violation of these rules may be deleted.
  • Vandalism – Obvious cases of vandalism are detrimental to The Last of Us Wiki and will be immediately deleted, followed by administrative sanctions, including warnings and/or blocks.
  • Discussions – Articles created on the mainspace for the purpose of discussion is not tolerated and will be immediately deleted. These also include articles whose content is based on subjective matter, such as theories, opinions, and other similar point of views. Such content should rather be taken to Discussions, blog posts, or, for constructive discussions, the article's respective talk page.
  • Fan fiction – Any form of fan fiction (or fanon) will be immediately deleted, followed by administrative sanctions, including warnings and/or blocks. If you truly desire to share your fan fiction and/or roleplay, please head over to our fanon partner wiki instead.
  • Nonsense – Articles considered to be nonsense may be speedily deleted at the discretion of an administrator. This is a broadly defined category that may include such common cases as spamming, inappropriate material/language, personal attacks, or articles otherwise determined to be detrimental to the wiki.
  • Leaked content – Articles whose subject matter is yet to be officially announced or revealed by an official source (such as Naughty Dog) is strictly prohibited and will be immediately deleted, followed by administrative sanctions, including warnings and/or blocks. If you create an article on content yet to be released, be sure to properly cite your sources.

Any user who spots an article that meets the criteria for speedy deletion should tag the article with the {{Speedydelete}} template and provide clear reasoning. The article will be deleted after an administrator's assessment.

When not to delete articles

An article whose subject doesn't meet the above criteria yet meets our notability standards should never be tagged as a candidate for deletion, and in turn, should not be deleted by an administrator. Such cases include:

  • Stubs, no matter how small, could one day become very long articles.
  • A page that requires a cleanup. These pages are just in need of attention, they do not need to be deleted.
  • Vandalism. Blanking pages, adding unneeded images, and inserting nonsense, while not helping the wiki, can all be reverted. The exception to this case is if a new page was created solely for the purpose of vandalism.
  • Newly created articles that are blank should not be deleted and rather receive immediate attention and/or be tagged with the {{Stub}} template.

Candidates for deletion

Articles that don't meet the criteria for speedy deletion and contains the potential for credible information, yet isn't explicitly defined as a notable article, may be subject to become a candidate for deletion. This also includes articles that have existed for a long period of time but are no longer considered notable in accordance with our notability standards. Any user who spots an article which they feel to be insignificant or unnecessary should tag the article with the {{Delete}} template and provide clear reasoning in both the template and at the respective talk page.

Users who oppose or support the deletion request should voice their opinions under the respective section on the talk page. Discussions will be open for two weeks, starting from when the article was first tagged, or until a general consensus has been reached by the community. Should the vote result in a tie following the two week period, the status of the article will be determined after an administrator's assessment. The {{Delete}} template should never be removed until a consensus has been properly reached.

My article has been deleted. What do I do?

Has your article already been deleted by an administrator? No worries—everything can be restored if needed. In most cases, if your article has been speedily deleted by an administrator, it most likely violated our wiki's policies. As such, attempting to contest the deletion usually prove to be fruitless. However, if you feel your article has a place on The Last of Us Wiki, check the deletion log to see who deleted the article, and then explain on that administrator's message wall why you feel the article was wrongly deleted.

If an article you have created has been tagged with {{Delete}} template but you feel that it has a place on The Last of Us Wiki, there are a couple ways to contest the deletion:

  • Explain on the respective talk page why you feel your article should not be deleted.
  • Check the article's edit history to see who placed the {{Delete}} tag, and explain on that user's message wall why you feel your article deserves to stay.

Note that if the community has come to a general consensus to delete your article following the two week discussion, the decision cannot be reversed. Any further attempts to contest the deletion will be fruitless, and may result in a warning and/or block.

Navigation

Advertisement